Nursing | 410-772-6500

Awards & Recognition

 AACN Beacon Award for Excellence

AACN Beacon Award for Excellence

The Beacon Award for Excellence is given to a unit that proves to have a positive and supportive work environment. It is awarded to units that demonstrate collaboration between colleagues and leaders, high morale and low turnover. Beacon awardees set the standard for excellence in patient care environments by collecting and using evidence-based information to improve patient outcomes and patient and staff satisfaction.

Three units at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital have been recognized with the Beacon Award for Excellence by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN): Surgical Intensive Care Unit C4-3, 4 East, and 2 North IMC. Learn More.

ANCC Pathway to Excellence® Program

Pathway to Excellence® honors hospitals which have a work environment where nurses’ contributions are valued, professional development is supported, and nurses are integral to decision-making. MedStar Washington Hospital Center is the first acute care hospital in the nation’s capital to achieve the prestigious designation. Learn more.

 AMSN PRISM Award 2017 - 2020 Recipient


The AMSN PRISM Award® provides special recognition to the exemplary practice of medical-surgical units. It is co-sponsored by the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) and the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB).

C6-2 Inpatient Unit, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital, is the first unit in Washington, DC, to earn this award, an honor recognizing exceptional nursing practice, leadership, and outcomes in hospital medical-surgical units.. Learn More.


Baby-Friendly Designation

MedStar Georgetown University Hospital, MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center, MedStar St. Mary's Hospital, and MedStar Washington Hospital Center have received prestigious international recognition as a designated Baby-Friendly hospital, from Baby-Friendly USA, Inc.


Magnet Nursing Status

Achieving certification as a Magnet® hospital is widely recognized as the highest honor a hospital can achieve for extraordinary nursing care. The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) recognition program demonstrates excellence in patient care and the highest degree of professionalism for a nursing program.

MedStar Health has two Magnet® hospitals, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital and MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center, which help to define a culture of nursing excellence throughout our system. Learn more.


NICHE Geriatric Care Recognition

All 10 MedStar hospitals are recognized for exceptional care for older adults and have achieved designation from NICHE, Nurses Improving Care for Health System Elders. Learn more.